Looking Back
The Early Years
The Road to Nunavut
What Price Nunavut?
The Next Generation
Inuit and The Land As One
Living with Change
Our Language, Our Selves
Inuit Art: The New Reality
Hunters and High Finance
The Subsistence Economy
A Public Government
The First MLAs
The World Looks North

What's In A Name?

Map of Nunavut

Inuktitut - Nunavut 99


The people of Nunavut chose 19 political representatives
to send to Nunavut's first assembly: 15 Inuit and four non-inuit


By Marion Soublière

[The MLAs]   Election night in Iqaluit

lear, crisp winter weather and years of pent-up enthusiasm produced an extremely high voter turnout in Nunavut's historic first election Feb. 15, 1999. Eighty-eight per cent of Nunavut's 12,210 eligible electors cast ballots.

In the ridings of Baker Lake, Cambridge Bay and Iqaluit Centre, voter turnout even surpassed 100 per cent. That's because more voters showed up at the polls than appeared on the official voters list.

The people of Nunavut chose 19 political representatives to send to Nunavut's first legislative assembly: 15 Inuit and four non-Inuit. Only one of the new members of the legislative assembly (MLAs) is a woman — Manitok Thompson, one of the most vocal opponents of the gender parity proposal that would have introduced equal numbers of men and women into Nunavut's legislature. The proposal was defeated in a Nunavut-wide plebiscite in May 1997.

Among the new territory's first MLAs are businessmen, former politicians, hunters, an airport maintenance worker, and Nunavut's first Inuk lawyer.

Visit Nunavut: Basic Facts for a list of which MLAs occupy premier, speaker and ministerial positions, as well as contact information for each.

topThe MLAs
(Number of registered voters indicated after each riding.)

Rankin Inlet North - 508: Jack Anawak
Rankin Inlet South (including Whale Cove) - 607: Manitok Thompson
Arviat - 820: Kevin O'Brien
Nanulik (Chesterfield Inlet, Coral Harbour) - 554: James Arvaluk
Baker Lake - 698: Glenn McLean
Amittuq (Hall Beach, Igloolik) - 893: Enoki Irqittuq
Akulliq (Pelly Bay, Repulse Bay) - 532: Ovide Alakannuark
Nattilik (Taloyoak, Gjoa Haven) - 817: Uriash Puqiqnak
Kugluktuk - 649: Donald Havioyak
Cambridge Bay (including Umingmaktok, Bathurst Inlet) - 584: Kelvin Ng
Quttiktuq (Grise Fiord, Resolute, Nanisivik, Arctic Bay) - 656: Levi Barnabas
Tunnuniq (Pond Inlet) - 544: Jobie Nutarak
Uqqumiut (Clyde River, Qikiqtarjuaq) - 652: David Iqaqrialu
Pangnirtung - 689: Peter Kilabuk
Iqaluit Centre - 415: Hunter Akat Tootoo
Iqaluit East - 688: Ed Picco
Iqaluit West - 806: Paul Okalik
South Baffin (Kimmirut, Cape Dorset) - 764: Olayuk Akesuk
Hudson Bay (Sanikiluaq) - 343: Petter Kattuk

Back to top Next chapter